Foundation Stage

FS1 and FS2

The Early Years Foundation Stage programme has 7 areas of learning.

3 Prime Areas

  • Communication and Language: English (Arabic and French are also included, at introductory levels)
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

4 Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World – Technology
  • Expressive Arts and Designs

Each area of learning is implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of child-initiated/adult-led activities. In the Early Years we recognise the characteristics of effective learning as:

Playing and Exploring

The 7 core areas of learning are developed through a number of teaching methods, including Active Learning.

Active Learning

There are four guiding principles that shape our Early Years practice:

  • Unique child: Every child is a unique individual who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Positive relationships: Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Enabling environments: Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs.
  • Learning and development: We recognise that all children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

Fostering values of happiness, compassion and respect is at the heart of our Early Years programme. We use these values to channelize the seven areas of learning and help our young learners reach their highest potential as they form new friendships.

Departments and Subjects

The Kindergarten programme for children aged 3 to 5 is called the Foundation Stage. It is designed to prepare children to begin the National Curriculum for England, which begins around the age of five in Key Stage 1 and continues through to Key Stage 4.

A child's progress is closely monitored and assessed against appropriate age performance standards. Every encouragement and help is provided for children to attain their full potential.

The early learning goals of the foundation stage details are:

  • Confident to try things, initiate ideas and speak in a group;
  • Able to maintain attention, concentrate and sit still;
  • Interesting, excited and motivated to learn
  • Respectful of their own cultures and beliefs and those of other people
  • Showing a range of feelings including joy, awe, wonder and sorrow

Meet Our FS Team

More To Explore