Curriculum Overview

Cambridge International School -Dubai follows the National Curriculum of England. This Curriculum, commonly known as the "British' National Curriculum, is extensively used by international schools around the world. It is a detailed, planned and integrated scheme covering a child's whole school experience, from the age of 3 to 18. It is a skill-based curriculum, served by many excellent textbooks and resources, with its own testing mechanism. It fits into the English public examination system (GCSE, AS & A Level, Btech), which is accepted by universities throughout the world.

An Education for Life

The National Curriculum for England provides students with an education that is recognized and held in esteem around the world. Acknowledged for its high academic standards and its well-rounded approach to education, the curriculum provides students with transferability and the opportunity to gain access to reputable universities, worldwide. Students from Cambridge International School have been accepted to prestigious universities around the world.

The school follows The National Curriculum for England and is organised on the basis of Key Stages, which are categorised as follows:

Key Stage Age Year Groups Performance Levels
Foundation Stage 3-5 FS1 and FS2  
Key Stage 1 5-7 Year 1 and Year 2  
Key Stage 2 7-11 Year 3- Year 6  
Key Stage 3 11-14 Year 7- Year 9 3-8
Key Stage 4 14-16 Year 10 and 11 IGCSE defined/BTech
Key Stage 5 16-18 Year 12 and 13 AS/A2/Btech

Performance Levels

For each subject and for each Key Stage, programmes of study are set out to determine what students should be taught. Targets to be attained are identified to set the expected standard of students' performance. These standards of performance are set out in 8 Level descriptions.

More To Explore